Upcoming Webinars

Subscribe to the RSS Feed of Upcoming Webinars!

Development of Mature Oil Fields: Enhanced Oil Recovery Option - AM
May 20, 2015 at 9:00 AM EDT, 8:00 AM CDT, 7:00 AM MDT, 6:00 AM PDT
(60 minutes)
 
With the severe decrease in the possibility of discovering new giant oil fields, mature fields become critically important for meeting future oil demands. Special attention is required for identifying the proper diagnostic techniques to determine the reason for and the location of the unrecovered oil and prudent development and reservoir management techniques for economically viable re-development applications. In this presentation, after the definition of a mature oil field, the different aspects of mature field development are outlined.
Decision Making: What Makes A Decision "Good"?
May 20, 2015 at 9:30 AM EDT, 8:30 AM CDT, 7:30 AM MDT, 6:30 AM PDT
(90 minutes)
 
Much is yet to be learned about how and why we make decisions, one of our most complex and essential human behaviors. Decision making occurs at all levels in organizations, from strategic decision makers to operational decision makers. Typically, it is the outcome of the decision that determines whether a decision is good or not, however, typically it is the decision making process that affects the outcome.

This presentation will include factors that influence both individual and collaborative decision making, including the impact of cognitive biases. The factors that can help, as well as hinder, decision making will also be discussed. Suggestions from the SPE Technical Report, 2013, entitled The Human Factor: Process Safety and Culture, will be described in the context of improving the decision making process.
Development of Mature Oil Fields: Enhanced Oil Recovery Option - PM
May 20, 2015 at 8:00 PM EDT, 7:00 PM CDT, 6:00 PM MDT, 5:00 PM PDT
(60 minutes)
 
With the severe decrease in the possibility of discovering new giant oil fields, mature fields become critically important for meeting future oil demands. Special attention is required for identifying the proper diagnostic techniques to determine the reason for and the location of the unrecovered oil and prudent development and reservoir management techniques for economically viable re-development applications. In this presentation, after the definition of a mature oil field, the different aspects of mature field development are outlined.
Digital Manufacturing and Its Relation to Drilling Systems Automation
June 3, 2015 at 9:30 AM EDT, 8:30 AM CDT, 7:30 AM MDT, 6:30 AM PDT
(90 minutes)
 
Digital Manufacturing (“Digital Thread”) encompasses the idea of high-levels of connectivity, data aggregation, and digital models to drive efficiency, safety, and growth in distributed systems. More concretely, there is a trend in manufacturing operations towards having a common data model that guides the creation of products from design engineering, through manufacturing all the way to maintenance, support, and end-of-life reclamation.

The presentation will provide an overview of current activities in other industries and their relation to drilling system automation.
Advances in High Capacity Scrubber Internals and Performance Boosting with Inline Pre-Separation
June 17, 2015 at 9:30 AM EDT, 8:30 AM CDT, 7:30 AM MDT, 6:30 AM PDT
(90 minutes)
 
More information coming soon!
Fluids for Fracturing Petroleum Reservoirs
June 23, 2015 at 9:30 AM EDT, 8:30 AM CDT, 7:30 AM MDT, 6:30 AM PDT
(90 minutes)
 
Hydraulic Fracturing (HF) is a well-established process to enhance the productivity of oil and gas wells. This stimulation process is conducted in reservoirs where the rock does not naturally flow the petroleum fluids. This is the case in many oil and gas reservoirs especially shales.

In the HF process, the reservoir stresses are overcome by use of fluids to initiate fractures. The initiation of the fracture is not enough to produce petroleum fluids. This process involves key and critical changes in the physical and chemical properties of the fluids involved.

This lecture will shed light on these changes from material science point of view. Various existing technologies for HF fluids will be discussed. This should give a clear understanding of the current state of the art in this field. The talk will also shed light on the current challenges that the industry faces. This will help the attendees draw broad lines on the current research themes in this area.
Human Factors / Crew Resource Management: Perspectives for Inputs to Risk Management Framework
June 24, 2015 at 9:30 AM EDT, 8:30 AM CDT, 7:30 AM MDT, 6:30 AM PDT
(90 minutes)
 
Oil and gas industry interest in applying Human Factors Concepts in managing risk has grown significantly since the Macondo Spill. The range of literature, industry studies, workshops, and presentations covering human factors (HF) topics is extensive. Crew Resource Management (CRM) is one of the elements of human factors also getting a lot of recent attention.

The challenge is to synthesize this information, get beyond theory, and present operating company managements with specific ideas and recommendations - insights and actionable ideas as to how human factors and CRM concepts can be applied to reduce the overall risk exposure of the enterprise.

The presentation will discuss and suggest several key “take aways” – potential “low hanging fruit” of ideas where human factors and CRM can help manage enterprise risk.
Understanding the Potential of Case-Based Reasoning in the Oil Industry - Morning Session
June 25, 2015 at 11:00 AM EDT, 10:00 AM CDT, 9:00 AM MDT, 8:00 AM PDT
(60 minutes)
 
Case-based-reasoning (CBR) is another soft computing technology developed to deal with uncertainty, approximate reasoning and exploit knowledge domain. Case-based reasoning, also known as computer reasoning by analogy, is a simple and practical technique that solves new problems by comparing them to ones that have already been solved in the past, thus saving time and money.

This paper provides a general framework of case-base reasoning along with a review of the four-step cycle that characterizes the technology (retrieve, reuse, revise and retrain), followed by two specific applications where the technology was used in field operations.
Understanding the Potential of Case-Based Reasoning in the Oil Industry - Evening Session
June 25, 2015 at 11:00 PM EDT, 10:00 PM CDT, 9:00 PM MDT, 8:00 PM PDT
(60 minutes)
 
Case-based-reasoning (CBR) is another soft computing technology developed to deal with uncertainty, approximate reasoning and exploit knowledge domain. Case-based reasoning, also known as computer reasoning by analogy, is a simple and practical technique that solves new problems by comparing them to ones that have already been solved in the past, thus saving time and money.

This paper provides a general framework of case-base reasoning along with a review of the four-step cycle that characterizes the technology (retrieve, reuse, revise and retrain), followed by two specific applications where the technology was used in field operations.
“Getting To Zero – The Road to Stavanger”
June 30, 2015 at 1:00 PM EDT, 12:00 PM CDT, 11:00 AM MDT, 10:00 AM PDT
(60 minutes)
 
You may not be able to make it to the presentation in Houston, TX, but there's no reason we can't bring it to you. By registering for this session, you can listen to the speaker live and watch the slides broadcast from the presentation without leaving your desk...all for FREE.

Elimination of HSE incident occurrences is being achieved by more and more organizations. The Best Practices they are employing are being seen as a way to catalyze a break-through in the industry. The goal is to reestablish for the industry, the improvement trend in HSE performance metrics that was being seen a few years ago, but has recently plateaued.

The first in a series of events leading to a culminating workshop that will be held with the 2016 SPE International HSE Conference in Stavanger, the SPE Gulf Coast Section is hosting an interactive session to initiate the industry’s conversation as to how we can eliminate HSE incident occurrence.
What You Need to Know about Investigations Affecting Operations in the Oil and Gas Industry
July 14, 2015 at 12:30 PM EDT, 11:30 AM CDT, 10:30 AM MDT, 9:30 AM PDT
(90 minutes)
 
You may not be able to make it to the presentation in Houston, TX, but there's no reason we can't bring it to you. By registering for this session, you can listen to the speaker live and watch the slides broadcast from the presentation without leaving your desk...all for FREE.

Please join us for a presentation on What You Need to Know about Investigations, including a discussion of how internal and government-driven investigations work, what to expect if your company is being investigated, the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act and other laws affecting operations in the oil and gas industry, and related ethical issues, presented by Tracy LeRoy and David Denton of Sidley Austin, LLP.
Selective Water-Reduction Systems: Where Have We Been and Where Are We Going? - AM
August 17, 2015 at 9:00 AM EDT, 8:00 AM CDT, 7:00 AM MDT, 6:00 AM PDT
(60 minutes)
 
Selective water-reduction systems (also known as relative permeability modifiers or disproportionate permeability modifiers) with consistent, sustained performance have been pursued by the oil and gas industry for many years.

This presentation discusses the mechanisms of selective water-reduction systems, case histories for both water reduction and alternate applications, and how this class of compounds and their applications could potentially be improved for increased success in the future. The intended take home message from this talk is that selective systems DO work and are showing great promise for other oilfield operations.
Selective Water-Reduction Systems: Where Have We Been and Where Are We Going? - PM
August 17, 2015 at 8:00 PM EDT, 7:00 PM CDT, 6:00 PM MDT, 5:00 PM PDT
(60 minutes)
 
Selective water-reduction systems (also known as relative permeability modifiers or disproportionate permeability modifiers) with consistent, sustained performance have been pursued by the oil and gas industry for many years.

This presentation discusses the mechanisms of selective water-reduction systems, case histories for both water reduction and alternate applications, and how this class of compounds and their applications could potentially be improved for increased success in the future. The intended take home message from this talk is that selective systems DO work and are showing great promise for other oilfield operations.