• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

Prevention and Public Health (PPH) Webinars

Longer Description of series here.
Upcoming Webinars

Why Is There No FDA Oversight Of Psychometric Tests To Evaluate Prescription Opioid Misuse?…Moving From Empiricism To Ethics
(May 14, 2014 at 1:00 PM EDT, 12:00 PM CDT, 11:00 AM MDT, 10:00 AM PDT)
May 14, 2014


Naloxone for Opioid Safety
(May 21, 2014 at 1:00 PM EDT, 12:00 PM CDT, 11:00 AM MDT, 10:00 AM PDT)
May 21, 2014



On Demand Presentations

FDA Labeling Changes for Extended-Release and Long-Acting Opioids: Rationale and Clinical Implications
(December 11, 2013)
December 11, 2013


A Brief Guide to Pharmacogenetics and Pain Management
(September 25, 2013)
This webinar will examine the genetic basis for differences in clinical responses observed among patients receiving opioid analgesics.


Multidimensional Care of Chronic Pain: Reducing Reliance on Opioids for Relief
(June 26, 2013)
This webinar will explore a multidimensional clinical approach to the treatment of chronic pain (and co-occurring mental health and substance disorders) that can be implemented in both primary and specialty practices.


Urine Drug Testing in Chronic Pain: A Patient Centered Approach
(June 25, 2013)
This webinar will provide an overview of the benefits and limitations of urine drug testing in patients with chronic pain.


Assessing for Risk, Benefit and Harm when Prescribing Opioids for Chronic Pain
(May 15, 2013)
Patient-provider agreements and informed consents are important as are ongoing monitoring for benefit and harm using frequent face-to-face assessments, urine drug tests, pill counts and prescription drug monitoring program data.


Improving Safety Through Opioid Rotation: Reducing Dosing and Extending Rotation Schedule
(March 28, 2013)


Prescription Opioid Overdose and the Public Health Response
(December 12, 2012)


"8" Reliable Principles to Safe Opioid Prescribing
(November 1, 2012)


Policy Forum on U.S. Pandemic and Seasonal Influenza Preparedness
(September 14, 2012)
Forum speakers and panelists will discuss the current status of U.S. efforts, what we have done right, what more needs to be done, and what should worry us.


Gaps in Prevention: Lifestyle Medicine and How is it Relevant to Your Practice - Redesigning Clinical Practice
(December 8, 2011)
Originally Broadcast December 8, 2011


Gaps in Prevention: Lifestyle Medicine and How is it Relevant to Your Practice - Physician Competencies
(October 27, 2011)
Originally Broadcast October 27, 2011


Motivational Interviewing - Counseling Parents About Secondhand and Third Hand Smoke Exposure
(September 29, 2009)
(Archived Online Recording)
This free 60-minute presentation by Jonathan Winickoff, MD, will provide an overview of the health risks associated with secondhand and third-hand smoke exposure, and explain motivational interviewing techniques to assist clinicians in counseling parents.