Reclaiming the F-Word: Folk Arts, Shifting Populations & Civic Engagement

June 14, 2012 at 2:30 PM EDT, 1:30 PM CDT, 12:30 PM MDT, 11:30 AM PDT
(60 minutes)

In this webinar, we will explore the importance of folk and traditional arts, highlighting how they connect individuals to their communities, foster dialogue between groups, and build cultural and civic capacity. Presenters will offer you examples of folk and traditional arts as a method for creating civic engagement and social change and show how they are key to both preservation and participation.

Presented by: Betsy Peterson, Director of the American Folklife Center, Amy Kitchener, Executive Director of the Alliance for California Traditional Arts; Maria Rosario Jackson, Senior Research Associate in the Metropolitan Housing and Communities Policy Center and Director of the Urban Institute's Culture, Creativity, and Communities Program.

 
Add To Cart
Select a Session Format:
Archived Webinar
      ($35.00 for Non-members, $0.00 for Americans for the Arts Members)

Webinars are at no cost to our professional members and for a fee of $35.00 for non-members. Please join to attend the webinar and enjoy many other membership benefits.


 

Webinar Links

Webinars Home
Upcoming Webinars
On-Demand Webinars
View Cart / Check Out