Making the Arts Accessible to Audiences with Disabilities: Focus on Audio and Visual Assistance

August 24, 2011 at 3:00 PM EDT, 2:00 PM CDT, 1:00 PM MDT, 12:00 PM PDT
(60 minutes)

For communities to sustain their cultural vibrancy, they cannot afford to ignore any portion of the resources available within the community.  Too often, people with disabilities-especially people who are blind or have low vision-are not welcome in a community's cultural institutions simply because programs are not accessible in a meaningful way.  Thus, these audiences are unrealized; moreover, people with physical disabilities are left culturally disadvantaged.

Some form of description (generally in theaters or in museums) is minimally available in about 30 states.  Recent legislation mandates description for broadcast television and the Department of Justice actively seeks to ensure access in all public venues.

The webinar will use interactive Powerpoint material/discussion to demonstrate how audio description can make performing arts, museums and media accessible to an underserved yet vital part of your community.

Presenter: Joel Snyder, President, Audio Description Services

 
Add To Cart
Select a Session Format:
Archived Event
      ($35.00 for Non-members, $0.00 for Americans for the Arts Members)

Webinars are at no cost to our professional members and for a fee of $35.00 for non-members. Please join to attend the webinar and enjoy many other membership benefits.


 

Webinar Links

Webinars Home
Upcoming Webinars
On-Demand Webinars
View Cart / Check Out