Education Reform in the New Congress: What Could It Mean for Arts Education?

January 11, 2011 at 3:00 PM EST, 2:00 PM CST, 1:00 PM MST, 12:00 PM PST
(90 minutes)

After a decade of debate since the last major education bill, is it time for action? According to President Obama, Education Secretary Duncan and leaders in Congress, education reform is one policy area that could find bipartisan agreement in the new Congress. However with limits on federal spending, new players in town and different ideologies there's a lot of reasons why it may not happen. 

Join this webinar to view a presentation by Americans for the Arts Director of Federal Affairs Narric Rome as he demystifies the issues and impact of federal K-12 arts education policy, identifies the federal movers and shakers in education reform for 2011, and speculates what federal action could mean for arts education at the state and district levels.  The webinar will offer Q&A opportunities for the webinar participants and will include the following national arts education leaders as Commentators:

            Heather Noonan, Vice President of Advocacy, League of American Orchestras
            Debora Hansen, President, State Education Agency Directors of Arts Education (SEADAE)
            Richard Kessler, Executive Director, The Center for Arts Education (NYC)

 

 
Add To Cart
Select a Session Format:
Archived Webinar
      ($0.00 for Non-members, $0.00 for Americans for the Arts Members)

Webinars are at no cost to our professional members and for a fee of $35.00 for non-members. Please join to attend the webinar and enjoy many other membership benefits.


 

Webinar Links

Webinars Home
Upcoming Webinars
On-Demand Webinars
View Cart / Check Out