Public Art Academy for Artists (Part 3 of 3)

November 3, 2010 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
(90 minutes)

Presenters: Mary Rubin, Brian Laczko, Amy Trachtenberg, Sammy Rodriquez

 

Unlike traditional studio materials, public art requires that one look at maintenance, durability, and presentation in a new light. Materials research often requires looking at infrastructure rather than museum work and speaking with contractors rather than other artists. The cost of these materials can be shocking to artists who've traditionally worked with studio materials. In this workshop, we'll cover strategies for working with materials and budgets on the public art scale.
 
1.  Introduction: Overview of 10 projects -conceptual to final design proposals
2.  Moving from concept into buildable design - considering durable materials, researching fabrication techniques, trouble shooting possible problems.
3.  How to structure your budget and time; cost estimating, collaborating with fabricators.
4.  Creative collaboration: Integrating your work into the construction schedule, resources and credits. Working with other collaborators: conservator, engineer, architect, graphic designer, historian, etc.
5.  Artist experience: What I learned in building my artwork, problems and how I solved them, what I would do next time.
6.  Design changes: How to be flexible; How design changes and why - when the original concept/ideas may remain

 

 

 
Add To Cart
Select a Session Format:
Archived Event
      ($0.00 for Non-members, $0.00 for Americans for the Arts Members)

Webinars are at no cost to our professional members and for a fee of $35.00 for non-members. Please join to attend the webinar and enjoy many other membership benefits.


 

Webinar Links

Webinars Home
Upcoming Webinars
On-Demand Webinars
View Cart / Check Out