Building Parent Involvement in Schools through the Arts

May 13, 2009 at 4:00 PM EDT, 3:00 PM CDT, 2:00 PM MDT, 1:00 PM PDT
(90 minutes)

If schools are to succeed in reaching every child academically, they need the support of a parent or primary caregiver to achieve this goal. This session will discuss the body of research that demonstrates how the arts can engage families in schools and discuss key strategies that are currently working in both public and charter schools.

Our speakers include:

Michael Sikes, Senior Associate for Research and Policy, the Arts Education Partnership , Washington D.C. and author of “Building Parent Involvement through the Arts” (2007)
Sarah Ogeto , Program Coordinator,  Illinois Parent Information Resource Center at Columbia College Chicago
Joanne Vena, Director of School Partnerships, Center for Community Arts Partnerships , Columbia College Chicago
Angela Fowler, PIRC Program Manager, Harris Center for Early Childhood Education, Columbia College Chicago

 
Add To Cart
Select a Session Format:
On-Demand Webinar
      ($0.00 for Non-members, $0.00 for Americans for the Arts Members)

Webinars are at no cost to our professional members and for a fee of $35.00 for non-members. Please join to attend the webinar and enjoy many other membership benefits.


 

Webinar Links

Webinars Home
Upcoming Webinars
On-Demand Webinars
View Cart / Check Out