Public Art 101 for Administrators

October 22, 2008 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
(90 minutes)

Through case studies and project examples, participants will learn the nuts and bolts of creating public art for their communities. The 90-minute webinar will discuss the context of placing artwork in the public realm including the politics of building a stakeholder base, agency partnerships and advocacy strategies.  Instructors will explore different funding and program structural models, including percent-for-art ordinances, master plans, and artist selection processes.

Discussion will include temporary and permanent works, art and design collaborations, artist initiated projects, as well as maintaining and conserving artworks. The webinar is suited for administrators establishing new public art programs, and/or restructuring or expanding an existing program.

Instructor:  Barbara Goldstein, Director of Public Art, San Jose Office of Cultural Affairs and Editor of Public Art by the Book
                    
Instructor:  David Allen, Director, Arts in Transit Metro

 
Add To Cart
Select a Session Format:
On-Demand Webinar
      ($0.00 for Non-members, $0.00 for Americans for the Arts Members)

Webinars are at no cost to our professional members and for a fee of $35.00 for non-members. Please join to attend the webinar and enjoy many other membership benefits.


 

Webinar Links

Webinars Home
Upcoming Webinars
On-Demand Webinars
View Cart / Check Out