Event Overview

Webinar Title:  Never Too Early, Never Too Late: Cardiovascular Health for Women Throughout the Lifespan

Date: Wednesday, August 14, 2013 

Times: 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. EDT
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. CDT
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. MDT
10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. PDT

Learning Pathway:  General Cardiology: Prevention/Risk Factor Modification 

COURSE OVERVIEW

Women have contact with the health care system at important touch points throughout the lifespan. These clinical encounters — during the childbearing years, in the perimenopausal period and in later life — present opportunities that could be leveraged to include, and, when indicated, focus on CVD risk reduction. The Effectiveness-Based Guidelines for the Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease in Women — 2011 Update (A Guideline From the American Heart Association) highlights the fact that women who have had pregnancy complications are at increased risk of CVD. The goal for this session will be to explore the options for clinicians to optimize these opportunities in their clinical practice settings and as important, to champion them with their colleagues in the primary care and women’s health fields.

LEARNER OBJECTIVES
The overall goal of this course is to enhance knowledge and ultimately increase competency in the management of cardiovascular disease in women.

Upon completion of this course, participants will be able to —

  • Summarize the evidence that gestational diabetes, pregnancy-associated hypertension and preeclampsia predict future CVD risk
  • Cite the prevalence of hypertension in women vs. men throughout the lifespan
  • Identify sex differences with regard to tobacco use and cessation
  • Summarize the impact (in women) of physical activity level on cardiovascular risk
  • Describe successful cardiovascular health improvement programs targeted to women in a variety of age cohorts

TARGET AUDIENCE
This course is intended for physicians, physician assistants, nurses, nurse practitioners, dietitians/nutritionists and other healthcare providers interested in the prevention and management of cardiovascular disease.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS
This webinar is co-sponsored/co-provided by the American College of Cardiology and Preventive Cardiovascular Nurses Association in collaboration with the Beverage Institute for Health and Wellness.  Support for this activity is provided by


COST
This online educational activity is offered free of charge.

Invite your colleagues!

Twitter Facebook LinkedIn GooglePlus Email